• Home
  • Posts
  • Bruce Museum Announces New Additions to Board of Trustees

Bruce Museum Announces New Additions to Board of Trustees

The Bruce Museum welcomed its Members, Employees, and Trustees to its Annual Meeting on June 23, via Zoom.

Board Chair, James B. Lockhart III, conducted the meeting, and along with Executive Director, Robert Wolterstorff, reported on the advances of the New Bruce building program and the progress since the Topping Out ceremony last June. Having raised over 90% of the required funding, there is only $5M left to raise. Although the Campaign for the New Bruce is nearing completion, there are still many opportunities for participation.

During the past year, the Museum hired a Curator of Art, Margarita Karasoulas, who is planning the launch of the new permanent art gallery spaces, as well as the opening spring 2023 show in the changing art gallery, Lois Dodd: Natural Order. In November 2021, Curator of Science Daniel Ksepka revealed the new permanent science galleries, Natural Cycles Shape Our Land, and is planning Penguins! as the first exhibition in the large gallery dedicated to rotating science shows. Mr. Wolterstorff reported on collection acquisition highlights for the year which included the two major bequest announcements

totaling over 70 important paintings, drawings, and sculptures. Objects donated to the collection include a portfolio of nine engravings by Stanley William Hayter, a large group of 30 original Art Moderne posters, 60 works comprised of most of the original paintings for the annual Federal Duck Stamp program, a large and significant group of works by Inuit artists, and an extraordinary Early Jurassic dinosaur trackway collected here in Connecticut.

The Museum’s June Fiscal Year 2022 revenues will be about 20% over budget due largely to our extremely successful Gala in May which had 430 attendees. Both leaders expressed their gratitude and praise for the hardworking Museum volunteers, leadership, and staff.

New Trustees joining the Board are Stephen Corman, Michael A. Kovner, Nisha Kumar, Angela Timashev, and Jacqueline Adler Walker. Winning annual awards for FY2022 were Employees of the Year: Suzanne Lio, Managing Director/COO, and Anne von Stuelpnagel, Director of Exhibitions and Director’s Award recipient Jillian Aufderheide. Simone McEntire and Susan Mahoney shared the Board Chair’s Award.

The Bruce Museum’s Board of Trustees elected James B. Lockhart III and William Deutsch as Co-Chairs. Joining them on the Executive Committee are: Vice Chairs Simone McEntire and Heidi Brake Smith; Treasurer Patricia W. Chadwick; Assistant Treasurer Rebecca A. Gillan; Secretary Ellen A. Flanagan; and Members-at-Large Robert H. Lawrence, Jr., Susan E. Lynch, and Charles M. Royce. Both Susan E. Lynch and Charles M. Royce were also elected Honorary Board Co-Chairs.

Related Posts