GPS Presents the 2020 Community Service Awards

On Wednesday, May 27, Greenwich Public Schools (GPS) students were presented with Community Service Awards for participation in service activities. The awards ceremony was held virtually through a Zoom meeting.

“The Community Service Awards are an honored tradition in our school District, recognizing students who have given so much of their time, energy and efforts to improve their school and broader communities. I am filled with so much pride when I see and hear about the impact that these impressive students have made,” said Superintendent Dr. Toni Jones.

Superintendent of Schools Dr. Toni Jones, Board of Education Chair Peter Bernstein, and First Selectman Fred Camillo shared remarks and School Principals and House Administrators presented awards to the elementary, middle and high school student recipients. Former GPS Superintendent of Schools (1976-1989), Dr. Ernest Fleishman presented the Fleishman Award for Community Service to a high school student that has made outstanding contributions to their community. In addition, the students each received State Citations in recognition of their accomplishments. The student award recipients and program participants are:

Elementary School Awards

Student Representatives:
Nina Baldinucci, Cos Cob School
Ava Hagerty and Emma Maini, Glenville School
Keeghan Kortner, Hamilton Avenue School
Slater Palmer, The International School at Dundee
Lynn Gulli, Julian Curtiss School
Alexis Palanca, New Lebanon School
Kaitlyn Qin and Kyler Woerz, North Mianus School
Charlotte Marek and Isabella Nedder, North Street School
Patrick Owen Cunnion and Oliva Leach, Old Greenwich School
Noah Coppel and Aliza Torop, Parkway School
Bobby Stanley, Riverside School

Middle School Awards

Student recipients:
Martin Fomin, Central Middle School
Audrey Long, Eastern Middle School
Kristine Anne De Jesus, Western Middle School
Daniella Gavalas, Western Middle School

High School Awards

Student recipients:
Emma Burstiner, Bella House
Lucas Gazianis, Cantor House
Amy Barratt, Clark House
Luciana Stefani, Folsom House
Kate Ochoa, Sheldon House

The Fleishman Service Award

Emil Perdue, Greenwich High School

Related Posts