Greenwich CT Pioneer Branch Celebrates 90th Anniversary

In November 1925, Grace Thompson Seton, a Greenwich resident and then a Vice President of the National Association of American Pen Women, organized a group of gifted area women, all of them in Who’s Who in America, to found the Connecticut Pioneer Branch. Famous members of the branch have included Anya Seton, Clare Booth Luce, Ida Tarbell, Faith Baldwin, and Flora Mae Holly. Today the branch, still based in Greenwich, has an active group of professional women writers, composers, and visual artists from throughout Fairfiled and Westchester Counties who meet monthly to present programs and share their current creations.

Now, this November, the chapter is marking its 90th Anniversary with an art exhibition entitled “Celebration” at the Byram Shubert Library, 21 Mead Avenue. The show will run from Nov. 3 through 21, with a reception open to the public on Thursday, Nov. 5, 6:30 to 8 p.m.

Refreshments will be provided by the Friends of the Byram Shubert Library. Among the well-known area artists whose work will be on exhibit are Elizabeth Vazquez, Art Chair; Carol Nipomnich Dixon, President; Lucie Anderes, Vivian Bergenthal, Janet Coughenour, Grace Le Vander, Ingrid Lief, Joan Rudman, Mary Fike Dowling, Kathryn Shorts, and Sharon Shisler. The reception will also feature piano music played by member Justine Macurdy.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply